Home is where the heart is

Where is my home or where do I live? I live in Orange California but my home is in Salem Oregon. I picked up and moved my life 950 miles in order to go to college at Chapman University. My home in Oregon is where I have always been up until this part of my life. The smell of the ground after the rain is never the same anywhere else.  Oregon is where my family is and where I thought I would always be until I decided to go on an adventure. Living in California is my adventure.  In California I am all alone in the sense that I have no family close by. I have however formed friendships that make it feel almost like I have made a second home with my new Orange family.

A well-known quote has come to have more meaning to me on this new adventure, “Home is where the heart is”. I find this to be especially true at this point in my life. I can choose to have my home be wherever I am. I know my family supports me and loves me no matter where I am. My definition of home is where my family and the people and things I care about most are; so, if they are all in my heart then my home can be anywhere.

Having said that I think this makes my home the best place there is. I can have my home wherever I am, whether it is in Oregon, California, or across the world in London. I will always be able to bring my home with me.

For the purpose of the OC in Unison project I will explain why my home in Orange has become a home for me. The town of Orange swept me off my feet the first time I visited. The quaint circle of Old Towne Orange had me that very first time. There is so much history sitting on display here that it is hard not to want more. From the International Food Festival to Treats in the Streets the town is inviting and family friendly. It is a place you would want to spend a Sunday afternoon, where you could walk aimlessly and feel the sunshine on your face.

The City of Orange allowed me to belong, it allowed me to come here without a single friend and turn this place into a home.

One thought on “Home is where the heart is

  1. These are interesting lines for their unique perspective:
    “The smell of the ground after the rain is never the same anywhere else.”
    “My definition of home is where my family and the people and things I care about most are; so, if they are all in my heart then my home can be anywhere.”

    Have you tried to integrate these into your slide show?

    Like

Leave a Reply

