Where i am from

Where I’m From

personal photo

personal photo

I’m from looking forward at my unknown success to looking back at what I have accomplished,

From here and now to then and there,

I’m from loving my life to missing the past.

I’m from Cascade High school to Chapman University,

From being the best to being among the best,

I’m from my perfect paper self to the self I truly am.

I’m from rainy clouds and stormy nights to hot pavement and blistering hot days,

From a small school surrounded by cornfields, to the big city life of Chapman,

I’m from fake friends to lasting friendships.

I’m from a close knit family to a group of women,

From a sister by birth to a sister by name,

I’m from just a girl to an Alpha Gam girl.

I’m from who I thought I was to who I want to be,

From the talk of big dreams to the path of completing them,

I’m from hopes, dreams, aspirations to reality.

I’m from raging rivers to calm tributaries,

From the big brown bear to the salmon swimming by,

I’m from a passive way of life to an assertive way of being.

I’m from Oregon to California,

From Salem to Orange,

I’m from one home to another.

One thought on “Where i am from

  1. Nice telescoping effect:
    I’m from Oregon to California,
    From Salem to Orange,
    I’m from one home to another.

    To help you refine your OC in Unison project and your writing in general, you might want to reread George Ella Lyons’ “Where I’m From.”
    Pay particular attention to all of the particulars that she used.

    Like

Leave a Reply

